Banner image

Kapoulas Names Initial GB Under 20s Squad

Andreas Kapoulas has named his maiden GB U20s squad including some familiar faces for Bristol Flyers fans.

Former Flyers star Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye has been handed a spot by Coach K off the back of an impressive Freshman year in the States, top scoring and securing All-Team honours in his Conference at Bradley University.

Deane Williams completes the former Flyers in the squad having helped his College side Augusta University reach their Tournament Final.

The squad is headlined by national team stalwart Jules Dang Akodo, who has been playing professionally in the Slovenia Telemach League.

The Bristol Flyers boss was named GB Under 20s Head Coach in March this year, stepping up from his previous role as Assistant Coach.

The invitees will all attend a preparation camp at the University of Essex in Colchester on June, 27th as Coach Kapoulas puts the candidates through their paces. 

Prior to heading to Greece for the FIBA U20 European Championship Division B, the team will compete in a warm-up tournament in Portugal between Friday, July 1st and Monday, July 4th, when they will face Sweden and Belarus. They will then step out for further friendlies against host nation Greece and Portugal prior to the start of the U20 tournament in Chalkida.

GB have been pitched into Group C, where they will play Albania (15/07), Ireland (16/07), Kosovo (17/07), Netherlands (19/07) and Greece (20/07) during the first phase.

Initial GB U20 Squad

Andre Arissol – Charnwood College / Leicester Riders (GBR)
Harvey Barr – Solent Kestrels (GBR)
Moses Byekwaso – Preston College Titans (GBR)
Kyle Carey – Myerscough / Lancashire Spinners (GBR)
Liam Carpenter – Crailsheim Merlins (GER)
Jules Dang Akodo – LTH Castings Skofja Loka (SLO)
Malik Eichler – MacDuffie Prep School (USA)
Pharroh Gordon – College of St Rose (USA)
Sedale Hanson-Young – Cheshire Phoenix (GBR)
Selby Hind-Wills – Solent Kestrels (GBR)
Boban Jacdonmi – Chattanooga State Community College (USA)
Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye – Bradley University (USA)
Callum Lawson – Western Wyoming Community College (USA)
Fraser Malcolm – Black Hills State University (USA)
Sam Newman – Ipswich Basketball Club (GBR)
Kingsley Nwagboso – Connors State College (USA)
Theo Oghide – Southwest Baptist University (USA)
Earl Russell – Western Wyoming Community College (USA)
Joshua Steel – University of Duquesne (USA)
Shaquille Walters – Peckham Pride (GBR)
Deane Williams – Augusta University (USA)
Findlay Wood – University of Essex (GBR)