Banner image


Joel Osborne


Posted Friday, March 16th 2018

Edozie earns England call-up for Commonwealth Games

Daniel Edozie has been named in Andreas Kapoulas’ final 12-man squad to represent England at the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

The 6ft8in American, who holds a British passport, has made the final cut of players and will fly out to the Gold Coast with his fellow teammates on Thursday March 22nd, where the squad will be located in Brisbane for a week’s training camp prior to departing for Townsville on March 31st. 

Edozie joined the Flyers from Iowa State University in 2015 and went on to lead the BBL in rebounds in his debut season (10.9), whilst notching 12 double-doubles in 33 appearances for the club.

The 25-year-old played in all 33 games for the Flyers last season, averaging six points and seven rebounds per game.

Edozie is averaging nine points and seven rebounds per game this season

Ten of the 12 players named in Coach Kapoulas’ Team England squad are currently playing their trade for teams in the British Basketball League (BBL), once again showcasing the domestic-based talent in the England national team.

Edozie is set to miss four games for the Flyers during his international commitment, returning to Bristol in time for the clash against Sheffield Sharks on Tuesday, April 17th.

Edozie’s first competitive game for England will be against fellow Bristol Flyers team-mate, Mike Vigor and Team Scotland on Thursday, April 5th in the preliminary round of the Commonwealth Games in Townsville, Australia.

The GC2018 basketball competition will feature eight teams in both men’s and women’s competitions. Split into two pools of four, nations will face off against teams in their pool during the preliminary rounds held in Townsville and Cairns between 5-10 April. The finals will then be held at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre from 13-15 April.


Callum Jones - Manchester Giants (BBL)

Drew Lasker - Newcastle Eagles (BBL)

Adam Thoesby - Sydney Kings (NBL AUS)

Kofi Josephs - Glasgow Rocks (BBL)

Orlan Jackman - Cheshire Phoenix (BBL)

Joe Ikhinmwin - London Lions (BBL)

Jamell Anderson - FG La Roda (LEB Plata ESP)

Mike Tuck - Sheffield Sharks (BBL)

Andrew Thomson - Leicester Riders (BBL)

Rob Gilchrist - Worcester Wolves (BBL)

Shane Walker - Leicester Riders (BBL)

Daniel Edozie - Bristol Flyers (BBL)