Banner image


Joel Osborne


Posted Wednesday, July 10th 2019

Bristol Flyers 2019/20 schedule announced

Bristol Flyers will open the 2019/20 season with a home game against Surrey Scorchers in the group stage of the BBL Cup on Friday, September 20th.



Following the announcement of a new format for the upcoming season, Coach K’s men will face a total of 10 games in the Southern Conference of the BBL Cup, before the regular season tips off against Sheffield Sharks on Friday, December 6th at the SGS College Arena.

Flyers will compete against Worcester Wolves, London Lions, London City Royals, Surrey Scorchers and Plymouth Raiders in the group stage of the Cup competition, will the full draw of the BBL Trophy to made following the conclusion of the BBL Cup group stage.

Full details on the new format for the 2019/20 season can be found below:



  • Two groups of six teams (geographical). Each team plays the others within their group both home AND away.
  • Northern Conference – Glasgow Rocks, Newcastle Eagles, Sheffield Sharks, Manchester Giants Cheshire Phoenix, Leicester Riders
  • Southern Conference – Worcester Wolves, Bristol Flyers, Plymouth Raiders, Surrey Scorchers, London Lions, London City Royals
  • Top four teams in each group progress to the quarter-finals


  • Single Leg knockout
  • North 1 v South 4
  • South 1 v North 4
  • North 2 v South 3
  • South 2 v North 3


  • Two legged aggregate score
  • (Winner of North 1 v South 4) v (Winner South 2 v North 3)
  • (Winner of South 1 v North 4) v (Winner North 2 v South 3)


BBL Cup Final to be played at Arena Birmingham on Sunday, January 26th 2020.

BBL Trophy

  • Per last season’s format (12 BBL teams + four non BBL teams) with bracket drawn from outset.
  • The BBL Trophy draw will take place on conclusion of BBL Cup group games
  • Teams who are not at home in BBL Cup Quarter-Final will receive home draw in the first round of the BBL Trophy
  • Quarter-Finals - single leg knockout
  • Semi-Finals – Two legged aggregate score 
  • BBL Trophy Final to be played at Emirates Arena on Sunday, March 15th


  • Best of three game series for Quarter and Semi-Final stages
  • If a lower seeds defeats a higher seed, they will take their seeding
  • BBL Play-Off final to be played at the O2 Arena on Sunday May 17th.