Banner image


Joel Osborne


Posted Thursday, April 11th 2019

BBL reveal new league format ahead of 2019/20 season

The British Basketball League has revealed some exciting new changes to the format of the 2019/20 season. 

A best-of-three game series will be introduced next season to the first and second round of the BBL play-offs ahead of the showpiece final at London’s O2 Arena in May, 2020.

Qualification remains the same with the top eight teams in the BBL Championship standings advancing to the play-offs, though the regular season will now change to consist of 22 games, with the teams playing each other just once, home and away.

The 2019/20 season will begin in September, with the BBL Cup,  as the start of the regular Championship season follows the conclusion of a new group stage. The 12 BBL sides will be split into two groups of six to play home and away fixtures before the top four in each group advance to the quarter-finals.

The BBL play-off final will tale place at London's O2 Arena

The top two in each group will host the one-legged ties in the last eight before the Semi-Finals are played over two legs to decide the two teams heading to Arena Birmingham for the Cup Final on Sunday, January 26th, 2020.

The BBL Trophy will remain the same with the adopted bracket format used for the current 2018/19 season retained. The path to the final at Glasgow’s Emirates Arena is mapped out, with a first round draw as the 12 BBL sides will again be joined by four invited non-BBL clubs.

Fixtures for next season will be revealed in full during the summer.